Poptastic Day: Big Country, “Fields Of Fire”

Big Country

Sometimes I forget I really love Big Country, like I forget I really used to love to play hide ‘n seek. But once I’m reminded of the fun times I used to have trying to find the very bestest hiding place (I was an awesome hider, but I hated the ‘seek’ part of the game), all those fond memories start flooding back. I hadn’t thought about Big Country in years and years, but then I got the magical “Fields Of Fire” in my head the other day.

Big Country were a Scottish band whose roots are a big part of their unique sound. They got together in the early eighties and only just cracked the UK Top Ten with their second single “Fields Of Fire” in 1984. It’s so uplifting and fun and the lyrics are full of hope, I think. I decided that the song is about the journey from one point to the other; whether it be literal distances traveled or metaphorical journeys in life, but to be honest I’m not sure. Who cares? The band with its pounding drums, bag pipes, and fiddles sweep me up into such a frenzy that I don’t even care what it’s about anymore. Other bigger hits followed, like “Wonderland” and “In A Big Country” – both great songs, but I think this is the true poptastic classic.

Big Country – Fields Of Fire
5 Responses

  1. jai ajouter ce site dans mes favorie. ma revenir c sur

  2. Cool, thanks! Je parle seulement un petit peu de Francais, mais je comprends toujours des commentaires agreables . 😉

  3. BIG COUNTRY IS NOTA 10000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000…………..

  4. A BANDA BIG COUNTRY TEM UM ESTILO SINGULAR QUE MARCOU MUITO A MINHA VIDA. ESPERO QUE TUDO ESTÊJA MUITO BEM E MARAVILHOSAMENTE LEGAL COM ÊLES! – EU TINHA UMA FITA CASSET COM A MÚSICA FILDS ON FIRE QUE O TEMPO DESTRUIU…MAS ELA ESTÁ GRAVADA NO MEU CORAÇÃO! TODO O TRABALHO DESSE PESSOAL É ÚNICO E CRIATIVO POR DEMAIS! VIDA LONGA PARA TODOS – SUCESSO MERECIDO COM AJUDA DOS ANJOS…DEUS EXISTE! NILTON – SÃO VICENTE – BRAZIL.

  5. Ehm, obrigado? That’s all the portuguese I know, but I’m really glad to see that you got such a strong reaction from this band. You seem to really love them, and we’re in the business of loving bands so thank you for your lovely comment.

Leave a Reply

